Vanderbilt wins 2019 College World Series title in three games over Michigan

Vanderbilt is 2019 College World Series champion after defeating Michigan 8-2 in Game 3 of the final series.

Vanderbilt is the fourth school in five years to clinch the national title after dropping Game 1 of the CWS finals. Mason Hickman earned the win Wednesday night, allowing just one first-inning run in six strong frames. He struck out 10 and allowed just four hits.

Pat DeMarco homered in the second and then walked with the bases loaded in a three-run third inning. Stephen Scott’s two-out single after DeMarco’s walk broke the game open early at 4-1.

After losing 7-4 to Michigan in Game 1 on Monday, Vanderbilt defeated Michigan 4-1 on Tuesday to even the final series at a game apiece. Kumar Rocker struck out 11 and allowed just three hits in 6.1 innings to earn his second win of this College World Series.

This is Vanderbilt’s second College World Series title in four appearances in Omaha. The Commodores also won the national title in 2014.

He was supported by a homer and two RBIs from Pat DeMarco and a two-RBI single from Stephen Scott.

Jack Eder closed things out for Vandy, pitching the final three innings in relief, allowing one run. Hickman and Eder held the Wolverines to six hits and two runs.

Vanderbilt is the highest national seed, at No. 2, to win the College World Series since 2001 (No. 2 Miami). This is the first time the top seed to reach Omaha has won the title since 2000 (No. 2 LSU).

The Commodores finish the year at 59-12, setting an SEC record for most wins in a season. Michigan, a regional 3-seed, ends its magical Omaha run at 50-22. This is the Wolverines’ highest finish in CWS play since its last national title in 1962.

FINAL: Vanderbilt 8, Michigan 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *